//
you're reading...
Decisions, Goal-Setting, Perspective

Challenge Yourself

Working out is my thing. I love physical exerting myself to sculpt my skin around the muscles of the beautiful body God gave me to take care of. Here recently, however, I have been very busy with my various projects, consultations, writing, church functions, finishing my MBA, and the day job. These busy days render a very lazy exercise routine bringing me to the conclusion that I need a personal trainer. I don’t want to be in a place where I am not being challenged. I’m more interested in growing, improving, and excelling.

Then I met Jacquelyn Jackson. She is the very image of how I’d like to envision myself for the rest of my life. She embodies the crossroads of where passion meets energy and self-discipline. Note: Self-discipline.

What people can’t look at me and see is my physical lack of fervor and motivation during hectic times of my life. I maintain appearances but I know I am nowhere close to where I want to be in matters of strength, endurance, and flexibility. During our conversation I discovered that her company Triple Fit‘s motto is centered around the mantra, “Look Fit. Feel Fit. Be Fit.” I most certainly needed to boost the last element of that trifecta.

You can deceive yourself into thinking you feel a certain way and successfully build a façade that fools the eye. Even still, in the end, you are the product of your action, behavior, and discipline (or the lack thereof.)

When I went in for my first complimentary consultation with her, I was half expecting to come out of there feeling on top of my game. I really wanted to be able to say that I can turn my lazy attitude off at will and boost my game without breaking a sweat. Ha! What happened in that studio was a desperate struggle. My body was not responding correctly to my instruction. My body convulsed and sweat poured from me as I tried my best to remember to breathe. But this is what living is really about. Filling each moment with an exhilarating burst of confidence in your own ever increasing potential. Challenging yourself to be a better you.

Sometimes we simply need someone to push us from behind to keep going. #inspiration #collaboration #partnership

I’m grateful to have met Jackie and I look forward to having her push me in ways I could never do alone.

For great health and fitness advice, follow her on Twitter!

www.keilaharris.com

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Inspirational Perspective by Linal Harris | Enjoy the Process - 10/15/2012

Leave a Reply

Twitter

