//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Not-So-Great Debate

Image

 

This past Wednesday’s Presidential debate was so disorganized. Poor Jim Lehrer couldn’t moderate things well (at all) and President Obama and Romney were both so evasive in answering questions. I’ll give it to Romney, he came prepared “and that with fire.” President Obama seemed to be pained by the entire process constantly trying to build his defense. 

Personally, I’d rather know my reasons to vote for someone, rather than the reasons why I should not vote for someone else. Both candidates threw “unfounded facts” at one another which is just confusing. 

Here are some thoughts I gleaned around gaining an audience from the entire experience.

  1. Answer Questions directly. This is not that hard if you take a moment to restate the question and fully understand the information that is sought after. 
  2. State Your Opinion. Leave what other people think alone. The last thing you need is someone to remember all the things you said were not so and forget what you are all about. 
  3. Convince your audience why you are right and to be trusted based on evidence other than the opposition. Your goal should be to make people feel that they are making the only right decision when they stand with you. Making them think you’re the best in comparison to the rest gives opportunity for someone else to pop up and say, “What about me?”

If you are not absolutely certain, best better adopt a position and stand on it firmly because, “I’m not so sure” is not a valid response. FYI: Beating around the bush is a huge indicator of one not being so sure!

Perhaps the Vice Presidents will learn from this poor exchange and give us something concrete next week.

In this Presidential Journey2theFinish, I do hope the candidates Enjoy the Process. May they lead us all by example.

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

One thought on “The Not-So-Great Debate

  1. Very good observation and thoughts. I especially like your concluding remarks.

    Posted by Jerry Rodgers | 10/06/2012, 01:15

Leave a Reply

Twitter

