//
you're reading...
Decisions, Experience, Informal Consulting, Perspective

Stress and Hugs (Get More)

In the busy world we live in these days, stress is normal. Saying you’re under stress is like saying you prefer sunshine over rain. Every one is stressed out, under pressure, and filled to the brim with things to do.

There’s no need to state the obvious unless you’re looking for validation, encouragement, or comfort (which is completely valid!) Instead of going off on a tangent about how stressed and busy you are, try simply stating what you need.

Example:

“Hey, how’s your day going?” -Good Friend

“You know, I could really use a hug!” -You

Result? You will feel a lot better.

The stress won’t disintegrate, but the frustration will subside a bit in getting that much needed hug and sense of validation. (You need 8 solid hugs a day!) A good hug at the right time tells you: “You can keep going and you will.”

Plus, talking about your levels of stress due to your busy schedule (or whatever the case may be) is not very productive and can be more overwhelming than helpful anyway.

As for me, I want NEED my hugs and would like a back rub…. everyday. When I fall behind, I need more the day after.

I’m just saying’…

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

