//
you're reading...
Experience, MBA Insights, Perspective

Book to Business Plan


The Hedgehog concept of beating an effective process to death to be the absolute best at it is much practiced in the business world. I bore easily. After launching my non-profit organization, DBMH Project, Inc., (inspired by a memoir project I have been writing,) I began taking on more smaller projects to keep my attention fresh in order to deliver new content. I have not had any particular strategy beyond simply reaching as many people that are within my target audience as possible. The textbook Strategy: View from the Top acknowledges the challenge of maintaining the same strategy long-term. A strategy must change as the company grows due to the surrounding factors of environment, society, and general expectations of stakeholders. What works well for a small organization is unlikely to translate smoothly after exponential growth.

In order to avoid the time building and rebuilding a strategic plan, I have been driving the organization forward without a set roadmap to the destination. This is a problem because having no set strategy makes it nearly impossible to track changes. The article, Do- Gooder’s With Spreadsheets, serves as a wake-up call to floating ideas versus committing to a strategy. If a not-for-profit organization has to demonstrate profitability primarily based on the accomplishment of its cause which often correlates with financial gain, I need a strategy that will make the organization some money!

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Strategy Paradox – Frustrating Circles « Enjoy the Process - 11/29/2012

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

