//
you're reading...
Decisions, Experience, Perspective

Build Bridges

There is a great abyss between knowledge and application that is bridged only with a solid plan. well thought out plan of execution. Otherwise, you’ll think it brave to reel back and try jumping over the great ravine of the unknown. Why take time to build a bridge if I think I can make it?

The perspective of the distance changes once you’re lying on your back looking up and thinking, “I really should have thought that through better.” Maybe you do think through really good ideas before executing. The issue is less with the execution and more with the idea. How does this great idea serve your customer base? Are you attracting new clients? Are you engaging current ones? Most importantly, what are your customers looking for? 

Word of advice: Do not offer something outside of what your audience anticipates. Not only is the time used to develop and deliver this unsolicited twist an unnecessary sunk cost, but your audience will grow weary waiting on the real deal.

My audience engrossed in the DBMH Project are waiting on a memoir. A simple expression of all the hard things no one wants to say, but countless people feel inside. Knowing this, but being the dreamer that I am, I embarked on a journey to intensify the product through a crowd fundraiser using Kickstarter, an excellent tool, but a distraction and a flop for my purposes. What I’ve learned about my audience that can be applied to anyone with a dedicated following for whatever reason, is that they want the product. They do not wish to invest in something they cannot see, touch, or envision. I can dream up different things all day, but if I cannot produce without the help of my fan base financials, I best leave it alone.

Through this process, I’ve learned more about my audience. Now it’s time to deliver what they want and get results. Overcoming your fears does not equate to big leaps of faith. (See Great By Choice Review on Shooting bullets over cannonballs!) Carefully construct the bridge with all the facts and ship what you have already promised which brought you customers in the first place. Know your audience before you leap. Build a bridge and get results.

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

