//
you're reading...
Informal Consulting, Instructions, MBA Insights

Faith and Uncertainty

We are often taken off guard by new twists in the story unfolding before us. Some of the surprises I’ve encountered the past few months have distracted me from determining a path and dedicating myself to journey diligently to the finish.

Managing uncertainty as a distinct role for senior management is intriguing to me because I have never been apart of a team that considered doing such. Raynor states in his book Strategy Paradox that a company that is proactive enough to plan for multiple upcoming scenarios of transition is so much further ahead than the company only willing to react to changes.

Reflecting on the need for uncertainty management in organizations lead to the personal applications in my daily life. This applies to my mental preparedness for spontaneous changes in my agenda. I have long been a person with a schedule and backup plan, to point which my friends and companions have become weary with my stubborn ways. I try not to be completely inflexible, but I accomplish my goals through self-discipline and persistence. Often times I have to remind myself that opportunities often appear unannounced. Sometimes, the benefits of deviating from a set plan in mind outweigh the cost of the distraction. In these cases, the best bet is to adjust to open up to new possibilities that will aid in reaching my long term goals.

In regard to DBMH Project, Inc., I believe the most important focus is accomplishing the goal of engaging and providing plenty of resources to the target audience. Uncertainty plays a very limited role in the course of the organization’s future. As the sole proprietor and president, the life of the organization rests in my actions. The project’s biggest supporter, my partner, may or may not stick for the life of the project. This possibility is definitely something I should be mentally prepared for to avoid the stress of figuring out a new strategy and carrying the heavier load alone. In the mean time, I embrace walking in faith with the hope that all will be well and within my power to handle. I do not condone or encourage voluntary ignorance, but trusting that circumstances will work out with time is a positive perspective that fuels forward motion in the midst of what can be unexpected.

A lot of the unexpected can be canceled out by simply doing a bit of research and asking people who have experience in the area you seek to penetrate. Draw on wisdom from those who came before you.

Use your resources!

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

