//
you're reading...
Book Reviews, Instructions, MBA Insights, Perspective

Don’t Wait To Be Evaluated

Confidence is built through achievement. This is the only way to continue to move forward through uncertainty and inevitable adversity. This directly implies there is a need to initially step out of the comfort zone and attempt what we have never done first in order to know that we can. The process of self-publishing my ebook is a direct example of expanding my comfort zone comprised of online blogging to another level.

10Xers, as Collins writes in his book Great By Choice, had the reputation of constant improvement instead of simply waiting for year-end results when the rest of the world evaluated them. Successful companies and organizations do not wait for someone else to assess them because they are constantly assessing themselves. Self-judgement opens the door to constructive criticism and feedback. Multiple perspectives help when tackling multi-faceted problems and challenges. I learned a long time ago to never take anything too personal in business. Rifts and tension inhibit sustained, strong professional connections. Open communication builds trust and loyalty.

The challenge here is for me in building trust after being misled by someone. I find it very difficult to construct business relationships on the rocky terrain of past betrayal. My background in interpersonal communication and conflict management make me doubly aware of the relationship dynamics in business. Thankfully, I have only experienced a worker that would overcommit and deliver nothing. I have learned to give responsibility in accordance with the amount of work being already being done.

 

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

