//
you're reading...
Goal-Setting

Pom-Pom Poker Balancing Act

In the world of accountability, there are essentially two ways to push people along the path of accomplishing goals. There is the loud, screaming coach that pushes you to perform more to get him to shut up than anything else.
The second method is a more silent supportive, distanced but present cheer that pushes you on all the way to your goal!

I refer to these methods as having the tools of Pom-Poms and a Poker. As an accountability partner, I have a tendency to use the poker because that is the most effective way for me to get work done. If I had a partner constantly reminding me of my long term goals and the relevance of accomplishing the every day stuff, I’d be more apt to accomplish the tasks at hand.

One of my clients is the complete opposite of myself. I learned through much trial and error that I get so much further along with her by putting down my poker, taking a step back, and using my Pom-Poms to cheer her on.

The take-away lesson from this is applicable in any partnership. Look and listen.

Look at the challenge or goal ahead of you and assess what you are trying to accomplish in an action or conversation.

Take time to listen to the other person. What do they need? What are they thinking about the situation at hand? Why are they leaning in the direction they are going?

The poker assumes the person is not moving due to laziness or some inexcusable hindrance. Truth is, hesitance can be for a carefully calculated reason… take time to listen and learn before assuming intent and pushing.

Take up your Pom-Poms… look and listen… and cheer your partner on!

About Keila Harris

An MBA graduate with an unparalleled ability to keep a team focused on the goal with clear deliverables to produce for specific results. I am a self-starter. I began a nonprofit organization in 2012 called the DBMH Project, Inc. and then authored a book as well. I love the intersection of business and technology and solving problems alongside colleagues dedicated to their work. I like to focus on growth strategies through SMART goals and accountability. I believe power is in the execution of constant learning and open, humble self-improvement. Therefore I read incessantly and expand my network at every opportunity. #PayItForward #SuccessIsTheJourney

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

